By mark rogers
December 7, 2009

Colt McCoy.
Mark Ingram.
Toby Gerhart.
Tim Tebow.
Ndamukong Suh.

Those are the five players the Downtown Athletic Club invited to the Heisman banquet. And I think they got it exactly right.

I said in my previous post that I thought Suh deserved to be there, but didn't think he'd get invited. The DAC surprised me. Good job fellas.

There's really only one other player you could make a legitimate argument for - Case Keenum - but the Cougars lost too many games for him to be considered.

I know Nebraska and Stanford lost more games, but we're talking Big 12, Pac 10 and Conference USA here. The Huskers lost to Texas Tech, Texas and Virginia Tech...quality losses. They did lose to Iowa State, but we'll blame that on luck.

Houston lost to UTEP, East Carolina and UCF. And it's an individual award, not a team award...now we're just arguing semantics.

Bottom line is Nebraska is one of the all-time great programs and has more national exposure. Plus, the DAC is always looking for a dominant defensive player to invite that is actually deserving, which Suh is.

Gerhart is absolutely deserving after what Stanford did to Oregon (51-42) and USC (55-21) in back-to-back weeks. He was also in my "players to look out for" article before the season which is another good reason...


Tebow, McCoy and Ingram are givens...no argument there.

As I said in my previous post, I think Ingram will win the award.

But I sure hope he doesn't. You know who my vote is going to...I just wish it mattered.


This site does not necessarily agree with comments posted below.

NSG99a on December 9, 2009 8:17 PM

Im confused. Does the Heisman go to the best team or player? Gerhart deserves it because of his dominance. His lineman are future senators and astronauts and yet he can still get it done.

Previous Entry:

Next Entry: